Last updated 25 Aug 2026

⭳ Download PDF — no signup

UPPRPB · UP

यूपी पुलिस सब इंस्पेक्टरUP Police Sub Inspector

Recruitment for Sub Inspector (Civil Police), Platoon Commander (PAC) / Sub Inspector (Armed Police), Sub Inspector (Special Security Force) and 1 more posts, conducted by UPPRPB.

Cycle completed · 2025-26 cycle

Eligibility & key facts

Qualification
Bachelor's degree · Any streamFinal-year / awaiting-result candidates cannot apply.
Age
21–28 years as on 01 Jul 2025Reckoned per: 01.07.2025 — CONFIRMED against the official notification (UPPRPB PRPB-B(उप निरीक्षक संवर्ग)-03/2025, dated 12.08.2025), section 2.8: candidate must have completed 21 years and not completed 28 years as on 01.07.2025..
Preference — not a bar
NIELIT/DOEACC 'O' Level computer certificatePreference under Service Rules, not a bar
Preference — not a bar
NCC 'B' certificatePreference only
Preference — not a bar
2 years Territorial Army servicePreference only
Nationality
Indian citizen
Domicile
Not required.Open to all-India candidates (nationality clause is India-wide), but vertical/horizontal reservation benefits apply only to UP domicile holders — CONFIRMED, official notification section 4.1(i): 'लम्बवत् एवं क्षैतिज आरक्षण केवल उत्तर प्रदेश के मूल निवासी अभ्यर्थियों को ही अनुमन्य होगा'.
Reservation
Vertical: SC 21% · ST 2% · OBC 27% · EWS 10%Horizontal: Freedom-fighter dependants 2% · Ex-servicemen 5% · Women 20%All percentages CONFIRMED by direct visual read of notification pages 15-16 (section 4.1(v), tables (क) लम्बवत् and (ख) क्षैतिज). Informational only — this engine computes individual ELIGIBLE/CHECK/NOT_ELIGIBLE verdicts, not seat-competition odds, so nothing here feeds eligibility.age or any other rule; it exists so the UI can show a candidate what share of posts their category/horizontal group draws from, not more. The 20% women's horizontal quota carries its own caveat in the notification: it is stated as 'subject to the final order of the Hon'ble Court' in Special Appeal (D) No. 475/2019 against the Allahabad High Court's order dated 16-01-2019 — i.e. under litigation, not settled. Vertical and horizontal reservation both apply only to UP-domicile candidates (see eligibility.domicile.note).
Attempts
No attempt limit
PwD eligibility not statedThis notification does not state whether Persons with Disabilities may apply — check the official notification before applying.

Upper age limit by category

Age limits, UP SI, as on 01 Jul 2025
CategoryRelaxationUpper limit
General (no relaxation)—28
General / EWS+3 yr31
OBC+8 yr36
SC / ST+8 yr36
All categories + up-state-employeeUP state government employee: 05 वर्ष+03 वर्ष = 8 years, same total as SC/ST/OBC (confirmed, notification pages 5-6, table row 5). Safe to prioritise over the category rules here specifically because 8 is already the ceiling among them — it can only help a General/EWS state employee (3→8) and never understate an OBC/SC/ST state employee's own 8.+8 yr36
Ex-servicemenArmy service deducted from actual age; resultant age must not have completed 34 years as on 01.07.2025. Same formula for both SI Civil Police (incl. Woman SI) and PAC/SSF — base 3-year ESM relaxation + the one-time 3-year bonus (GO dated 26.05.2025), i.e. 28 + 6.Service deducted from age, +6 yr formulaUp to 34

Relaxations do not stack — the single highest that applies to you is used. Ex-servicemen: your military service is deducted from your age; the notification’s formula, not a flat number of years, decides the result.

The bar beside each limit compares it against the highest upper limit on this record (36 years).

Physical standard (PST)

Physical standards by category and region, UP SI
Applies toMin. heightChestMin. weight
Male · General / EWS / OBC / SC168 cm79–84 cm (+5 expansion)—
Male · ST160 cm77–82 cm (+5 expansion)—
Female · General / EWS / OBC / SC152 cmChest not measured for women.40 kg
Female · ST147 cm—40 kg

Where a candidate matches more than one row, the most specific row applies.

Physical efficiency test (PET)

PET standards by category and region, UP SI
Applies toTestStandard
MaleRun4,800 m in 28:00 min
FemaleRun2,400 m in 16:00 min

Important dates — 2025-26 cycle

  1. 12 AugNotification
  2. 12 AugApplications open
  3. 11 SeptApplications close
  4. 14 MarExam begins
  5. 15 MarExam ends

UP SI · 2025-26 cycle · as on 25 Aug 2026 · meribari.com

Key facts, UP SI, 2025-26 cycle
Notification date12 Aug 2025
Applications open12 Aug 2025
Applications close11 Sept 2025
Exam dates14 Mar – 15 Mar 2026
Exam modeWritten examination (CBT)
Vacancies4,543
Application fee — 2025-26 cycle
Applies toFeeNote
General / EWS / OBC₹500—
SC / ST₹400—
2025-26 cycle noteSub Inspector (Confidential) is a SEPARATE recruitment of 112 posts — do not merge into this count.

Selection process

  1. Written Examinationलिखित परीक्षा

    WrittenCounts to merit

    120 min · 400 marks

    Sectional qualifying 35% (35 of 100 per subject) AND overall 50% (200 of 400). No negative marking. Both thresholds must be met.

  2. Document Verificationदस्तावेज़ सत्यापन

    Document checkQualifying only
  3. Physical Standard Testशारीरिक मानक परीक्षा

    PhysicalQualifying only
  4. Physical Efficiency Testशारीरिक दक्षता परीक्षा

    PhysicalQualifying only
Final merit
Written exam marks only

Exam pattern & pay

Written Examination pattern
SectionQuestionsMarks
General Hindi40100
Basic Law & Constitution / General Knowledge40100
Numerical & Mental Ability40100
Mental Aptitude / IQ / Reasoning40100
Total160400
Marks share by section
400total marks
  • General Hindi100 mk · 40 Q(25%)
  • Basic Law & Constitution / General Knowledge100 mk · 40 Q(25%)
  • Numerical & Mental Ability100 mk · 40 Q(25%)
  • Mental Aptitude / IQ / Reasoning100 mk · 40 Q(25%)
  • Duration: 120 minutes, no sectional timing
  • Marking: +2.5 for each correct answer · No negative marking · 0 for unattempted

Sectional qualifying 35% (35 of 100 per subject) AND overall 50% (200 of 400). No negative marking. Both thresholds must be met.

Qualifying marks — Written Examination

35% in each section and 50% overall — a candidate must clear both thresholds, and the cutoffs are identical for every category: this paper carries no relaxation ladder.

Flat for ALL categories — no relaxation. Both thresholds must be met: 35% in EACH of the four subjects (35/100) AND 50% aggregate (200/400). This differs from UP Constable and SSC GD, which both use category-wise ladders.

Sub Inspector (Civil Police)

Level-6 · ₹35400-112400

₹46,000 – ₹58,000/month in hand

Approximate — computed from the 7th CPC pay level (basic + DA + HRA, less NPS), cross-checked against multiple aggregator salary pages; not stated in the exam's own notification. Varies by posting city (HRA), department and pay-level increment.

Platoon Commander (PAC) / Sub Inspector (Armed Police)

Level-6 · ₹35400-112400

₹46,000 – ₹58,000/month in hand

Approximate — computed from the 7th CPC pay level (basic + DA + HRA, less NPS), cross-checked against multiple aggregator salary pages; not stated in the exam's own notification. Varies by posting city (HRA), department and pay-level increment.

Sub Inspector (Special Security Force)

Level-6 · ₹35400-112400

₹46,000 – ₹58,000/month in hand

Approximate — computed from the 7th CPC pay level (basic + DA + HRA, less NPS), cross-checked against multiple aggregator salary pages; not stated in the exam's own notification. Varies by posting city (HRA), department and pay-level increment.

Woman Sub Inspector (Women Battalion)

Level-6 · ₹35400-112400

₹46,000 – ₹58,000/month in hand

Approximate — computed from the 7th CPC pay level (basic + DA + HRA, less NPS), cross-checked against multiple aggregator salary pages; not stated in the exam's own notification. Varies by posting city (HRA), department and pay-level increment.

UP SI · as on 25 Aug 2026 · meribari.com
Pay details, UP SI
PostPay levelPay scale (₹)In-hand (₹/month, approx.)
Sub Inspector (Civil Police)Level-635400-11240046,000–58,000
Platoon Commander (PAC) / Sub Inspector (Armed Police)Level-635400-11240046,000–58,000
Sub Inspector (Special Security Force)Level-635400-11240046,000–58,000
Woman Sub Inspector (Women Battalion)Level-635400-11240046,000–58,000

Cut-off marks

2025-26 cycle — held 14 Mar – 15 Mar 2026

Written Examination cut-off — Sub-Inspector, Civil Police

UP SI 2025-26 Written Examination cut-off marks by category, Sub-Inspector, Civil Police
CategoryCut-off marks
General373.93936 / 400
EWS369.30522 / 400
OBC369.29336 / 400
SC356.32128 / 400
ST341.80217 / 400

Vertical-category cutoff, 4,242 posts, both genders combined. A separate, lower Women-category horizontal cutoff also applies (encoded separately below); Freedom-Fighter-Dependent and Ex-Servicemen horizontal cutoffs are on record in the source but not encoded here as they cut across the vertical categories rather than sitting within one.

Written Examination cut-off — Sub-Inspector, Civil Police (Female)

UP SI 2025-26 Written Examination cut-off marks by category, Sub-Inspector, Civil Police, Female
CategoryCut-off marks
General367.53698 / 400
EWS361.75236 / 400
OBC362.32066 / 400
SC349.51035 / 400
ST319.88424 / 400

Women-category horizontal cutoff within the same Sub-Inspector Civil Police list (candidates are still counted against their vertical category's vacancies).

Written Examination cut-off — Platoon Commander, PAC / SI Armed Police (Male)

UP SI 2025-26 Written Examination cut-off marks by category, Platoon Commander, PAC / SI Armed Police, Male
CategoryCut-off marks
General373.02683 / 400
EWS369.23023 / 400
OBC369.38883 / 400
SC356.21353 / 400
ST343.73372 / 400

Platoon Commander, PAC / Sub-Inspector Armed Police — 135 posts, male candidates only.

Written Examination cut-off — Platoon Commander / SI, Special Security Force (Male)

UP SI 2025-26 Written Examination cut-off marks by category, Platoon Commander / SI, Special Security Force, Male
CategoryCut-off marks
General380.05196 / 400
EWS374.93551 / 400
OBC376.81465 / 400
SC364.17402 / 400
ST364.87839 / 400

Platoon Commander / Sub-Inspector, Special Security Force (SSF) — 60 posts, male candidates only.

Written Examination cut-off — Women Battalion Sub-Inspector (Female)

UP SI 2025-26 Written Examination cut-off marks by category, Women Battalion Sub-Inspector, Female
CategoryCut-off marks
General366.46684 / 400
EWS361.51443 / 400
OBC362.06224 / 400
SC348.52696 / 400
ST319.00875 / 400

Women Battalion Sub-Inspector (Civil Police) — 106 posts, female candidates only. This is the FINAL selection cutoff (written exam marks only — PST/PET are qualifying, per this record's meritBasis), not a shortlisting-stage cutoff.

Sub Inspector (Confidential) is a SEPARATE recruitment of 112 posts — do not merge into this count.

Source: UPPRPB 'Sub-Inspector Civil Police and equivalent posts Direct Recruitment-2025 — Final Selection Result', No. PRPB-B(SI Cadre)-03/2025, dated 14-07-2026. Read from https://uppbpb.gov.in/FilesUploaded/Notice/14-07-2026%20UPSI2025%20VIGYPTI944a5675-a3d4-4ac6-a52f-f476f72e81c1.pdf (scanned PDF — no extractable text layer; transcribed from the page images).

Frequently asked

What is the age limit for UP SI?

You must be 21 to 28 years old as on 01 Jul 2025. Category relaxation: General / EWS +3, OBC +8, SC / ST +8, +8. Ex-servicemen have their military service deducted from their age instead of a flat relaxation.

What qualification do I need?

A a Bachelor's degree. Final-year / awaiting-result candidates cannot apply.

Is UP SI open to Persons with Disabilities?

This is not stated in the sources on record — confirm directly with the official notification before applying.

What is the selection process?

4 stages: Written Examination → Document Verification → Physical Standard Test → Physical Efficiency Test. Marks toward final merit come only from the Written Examination. Document Verification, Physical Standard Test, Physical Efficiency Test are qualifying (pass/fail) only. Final merit basis: Written exam marks only.

How much is the application fee?

For the 2025-26 cycle the fee varies by category:

Applies toFeeNote
General / EWS / OBC₹500—
SC / ST₹400—
What is the in-hand salary for Sub Inspector?

Approximately ₹46,000–₹58,000 a month, on Level-6. Approximate — computed from the 7th CPC pay level (basic + DA + HRA, less NPS), cross-checked against multiple aggregator salary pages; not stated in the exam's own notification. Varies by posting city (HRA), department and pay-level increment.

Is there negative marking?

No — there is no negative marking on any stage of this exam.

What is the UP SI cut off?

The 2025-26 cycle's Written Examination cut-off (category-wise): General 373.93936/400, EWS 369.30522/400, OBC 369.29336/400, SC 356.32128/400, ST 341.80217/400. See the Cut-off section below for the full breakdown by post and category.

Do I need a domicile certificate?

No. Open to all-India candidates (nationality clause is India-wide), but vertical/horizontal reservation benefits apply only to UP domicile holders — CONFIRMED, official notification section 4.1(i): 'लम्बवत् एवं क्षैतिज आरक्षण केवल उत्तर प्रदेश के मूल निवासी अभ्यर्थियों को ही अनुमन्य होगा'.

How many attempts are allowed?

No attempt limit.

Not sure you qualify for UP SI?

Answer a few questions about your age, qualification and category — the Finder checks you against every exam we track, right on your phone, nothing sent anywhere.

Find my exams